The Wright Flyer

Wright Brothers 2

Because of my love and passion for flying, the photo I restored today has an extra-special significance to me.

Wright Brothers 1

It depicts Wilbur Wright in the Wright Flyer, on the ground after an unsuccessful trail on December 14, 1903 at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.  It was only a few days later that man achieved sustained powered, heaver-than-air flight for the first time in recorded history.

This achievement has changed all of our lives in so many ways.  Even if you’re not a fan of flying, flight affects us each on a daily basis – goods are shipped across the world overnight through air freight; we can easily travel from one side of the world to the other in 24 hours or less; and the world has become smaller as a result.

I’d like to end this post by leaving you with my favorite quote (often attributed to Leonardo da Vinci) which perfectly sums up how I feel about flying:

“When once you have tasted flight,
you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward,
for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”

2 thoughts on “The Wright Flyer

Comments are closed.