Nasjaja Hatali of the Navaho

Nesjaja Hatali - Navaho

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been fascinated by the photography of Edward S. Curtis.

His photography of the American West, and of Native American peoples was absolutely extraordinary.

In particular, I love how he used light to capture the most intense expressions in people.  Lighting, as all photographers know, is everything.  It differentiates a good image from something magical.

I recently discovered a source of Curtis’ photographs, which have now outside of copyright, so I decided to restore and enhance the image you see above.

I know it’s been done before, but I’m considering compiling a book of Curtis’ images, once I’ve restored them.  If I go ahead with the project, I’d like to include significant information relating to the people in the images, to tell a story, as well as immortalize them through their images.

Just a thought for today!

The image below is the original image, included for comparison.

Nesjaja Hatali - Navaho v2

4 thoughts on “Nasjaja Hatali of the Navaho

Comments are closed.